That time you taught me to be still…

You’re seven weeks old and still growing up way to fast! The other night we went back to the birth center for a follow up appointment (mommy and baby both are great) and I held you on the scale with me-you’re 10lbs already. Your little thighs are filling out and we still lovingly refer to you as the Buddha burrito because of your awesome tummy. You eat pretty much any chance you get and the other day Grandma Nisly have you a bottle with 3.5oz and you finished it like a champ and still wanted more.

Seriously kiddo, slllllllow down. You’re teaching me that art so why don’t you practice what you preach little missy? I recently rediscovered Jónsi and Alex’s Riceboy Sleeps album when I wanted some soothing to play for you while we went out on a drive. Usually canned music isn’t your thing and I have to sing for you to focus but you seemed to really dig this stuff. The music is slow. Exceptionally slow. Like a barely flowing stream. It progresses but it’s almost like you can’t perceive it happening. I found myself wanting to put the radio on at first because I got tired of waiting around for it to get somewhere. That’s when I realized how long it had been since I had taken it in. It used to be one of my favorite albums. Now I’m not used to the patience it takes to soak it in. But I made myself keep it on, made myself slow down and let it progress at it’s own pace. Driving and listening to it put you to sleep and made me take some deep breaths. So thanks for that.

We spend most evenings in your room on the rocking chair. You eat off and on until you finally settle to sleep. Some nights you are fussy, some nights you smile and talk to us. But you stay much calmer if we hang out in there in your happy place. I know you’re not officially supposed to be babbling, just cooing but considering the amount of sounds you make including consonants, I’d say it’s safe to say you’ve passed that milestone. Every night Daddy tries to get you to say “daddy”. Sometimes you sound ridiculously close to it! I’m fine with his one sided lessons (okay, he occasionally says mommy too). What he doesn’t know is that if you’re first word is daddy then that’s who you will call for in the middle of the night. 🙂

We decided to try putting you back in your sleeper instead of your crib but in your room this time. Ever since then you’ve been sleeping for 6-7 hour stretches! We think this is because you’ve had some reflux that was waking you up when you lay flat. We’d prop your crib mattress up but since you’re so good at rolling I’m afraid you’d always end up on the bottom end of your crib.

Leave a Reply

